The Graduate Student Assembly The University of Texas at Austin

Resolution: G.R. 15 (Su) 1 Author(s): The Executive Committee of

The Graduate Student Assembly

Sponsor(s): Margaret Clark,

Representative, Classics

In Support of the Removal of the Statue of Jefferson Davis on the Main Mall

Summary: The statue of Jefferson Davis glorifies a man not in keeping with the Purpose and Core Values of The University of Texas at Austin and should be removed

1 2	WHEREAS	The University of Texas at Austin has been embroiled in a debate concerning the placement of a statue of Confederate President Jefferson Davis in a place of honor on the Main Mall; and,		
3	WHEREAS	The life and ideology of the man in question are in no way aligned with the Core Values and Purpose of The University of Texas at Austin; and,		
5	WHEREAS	The Student Government and its leaders have led a valiant effort to bring this matter to the attention of the campus; and,		
6 7	WHEREAS The University of Texas at Austin holds itself to the highest standards of integrity; now,			
/				
8	THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT The Graduate Student Assembly fully supports, endorses, and approves 35 of the Student Government calling for the removal of the statue of Confederate President Jefferson Davis; and,			
9	THAT	Confederate Tresident Jerrerson Davis, and,		
DE II I CHIIIDH		Echoes the call of AR 35 to remove the statue from its place of prominence and relegate it to a museum so that the errors of our past never be forgotten;		
11	THAT	and,		
12	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED	That President Fenves carry out the removal of this antiquity with haste and without bureaucratic delay; and,		
13	THAT			
14	BE IT FURTHER	That copies of the resolution be distributed to President Greg Fenves, Interim Provost Judy Langlois, Interim Dean of Graduate Studies Marvin Hackert, Vice President for Student Affairs Gage Paine, Dean of Students Soncia Reagins-Lilly, Assistant Dean John Dalton, Faculty Council Secretary Dean		
15	RESOLVED THAT			
16		Neikirk, Faculty Council Chair William Beckner, Graduate Assembly Chair Jay Hartzell, Senate of College Councils President Rachel Osterloh, and		
17		Student Government President Xavier Rotnofsky.		

18