

News Release

For Immediate Release October 20, 2017

Contact: Dave Nelson (512) 463-0112

SENATOR NELSON ANNOUNCES NEW LEADERSHIP TEAM

AUSTIN – Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today announced staff changes in her Capitol, District, and Committee offices.

"I have been extremely fortunate to have capable, loyal staff who worked tirelessly over long tours of duty to advance our priorities. I wish those moving on the very best and appreciate their service to our state," Senator Nelson said. "Our re-organized team includes seasoned veterans with over a century of combined legislative experience. I am confident we will continue to produce results for Senate District 12 and the people of Texas."

Dave Nelson, currently chief of staff, will take over as Senate Finance Committee Director. Nelson (not related) has worked in the Texas Senate for more than 18 years. Stacey Gilliam, an attorney with more than 5 years of budget and policy experience, will take on the role of Deputy Committee Director. Susie Buda, also an attorney with 11 years of Senate experience, will serve as Tax Policy Director. Brady Vaughn and Austin Holder will continue as budget analysts, while Stephanie Hoover will remain Clerk.

Travis Broussard, currently legislative director, will assume the role of Chief of Staff. He has worked in the Senate in multiple capacities for more than 12 years. Senior Policy Analyst Anne Allensworth will be promoted to Legislative Director, and Kevin Fletcher will become a Policy Analyst. Alexa Hoisager joins Senator Nelson's staff as Communications Director, along with Danielle Drastata who will serve as Correspondence Director. Elizabeth Rice will remain as Scheduling Coordinator.

In the District Office, Breanne Gonzales Jackson has been promoted to District Director after 3 years as Caseworker/Field Representative. Bonnie Diehl joins the district staff as Field Representative.

Staff changes are effective November 1st.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.